OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, TELANGANA

5th Floor, North Block, Buddha Bhavan, Secunderabad, Hyderabad-03.

PRESS RELEASE

The Election Commission of India has announced the Biennial Elections to the Council of States and stated that the term of office of the members of the Rajya Sabha is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2020. In respect of the Telangana State the term of following two members is expiring on 9-4-2020. The details are given as below:

SI. No.	Name of Member	Date of Retirement
1	Sri K.V.P.Ramachandra Rao	09-04-2020
2	Sri Garikapati Mohan Rao	

2. The Election Commission has decided to hold Biennial Elections to the Council of States in accordance with the following programme:-

1	Issue of Notification	06 th March, 2020 (Friday)
2.	Last Date of making nominations	13 th March,2020 (Friday)
3	Scrutiny of nominations	16 th March, 2020 (Monday)
4	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	18 th March, 2020 (Wednesday)
5	Date of poll	26 th March,2020 (Thursday)
6	Hours of poll	09 am to 4.00 pm
7	Counting of Votes	26 th March, 2020 (Thursday) at 5.00 pm
8	Date before which election shall be completed	30 th March, 2020 (Monday)

The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections.

Issued by the Office of Chief Electoral Officer, Telangana State Vide U.O. No. 7018/Elecs.D/2019-9, Dated: 25.02.2020

ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/26/2020

Dated: 25th February, 2020

Press Note

Sub: Biennial Elections to the Council of States to fill the seats of members retiring in April 2020-reg.

The term of office of 55 members of the Rajya Sabha elected from 17 States is due to expire on their retirement in April, 2020 as detailed below:

Sl. No.	State	No. of seats	Date of retirement	
1.	Maharashtra	7	02.04.2020	
2.	Odisha	4		
3.	Tamil Nadu	6		
4.	West Bengal	5	1	
5.	Andhra Pradesh	4		
6.	Telangana	2	-	
7.	Assam	3		
8.	Bihar	5	09.04.2020	
9.	Chhattisgarh	2		
10.	Gujarat	4		
11.	Haryana	2		
12.	Himachal Pradesh	1		
13.	Jharkhand	2		
14.	Madhya Pradesh	3		
15.	Manipur	1		
16.	Rajasthan	3		
17.	Meghalaya	1	12.04.2020	

2. A statement showing the details of the above mentioned vacancies is given in 'Annexure-A'. The Commission has decided that above mentioned biennial elections to the Council of States shall be held in accordance with the following programme: -

Sl.No.	Events	Dates
1.	Issue of Notifications	06 th March, 2020 (Friday)
2.	Last date of making nominations	13 th March, 2020 (Friday)
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	16 th March, 2020 (Monday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	18th March, 2020 (Wednesday)
5.	Date of Poll	26th March, 2020 (Thursday)
6.	Hours of Poll	09:00 am to 04:00 pm
7.	Counting of Votes	26 th March, 2020 (Thursday) at 05:00 pm
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	30 th March, 2020 (Monday)

- 3. The Commission has directed that for the purpose of marking preference(s) on the ballot paper only integrated violet colour sketch pen(s) of pre-fixed specification, provided by the Returning Officer, shall be used. No other pen shall, under any circumstances, be used in the above said elections.
- 4. Adequate measures for close monitoring of the election process by appointing observers shall be taken to ensure free and fair election.

PRAMOD KUMAR SHARMA SECRETARY

'Annexure-A'

S.No	Name of State	Name of Member	Date of Retirement	
1.		Dalwai, Husain Umar		
2.		Sable, Amar Shankar		
3.	MAHARASHTRA	Dhoot, Rajkumar Nandlal	02.04.2020	
4.		Pawar, Sharadchandra Govindrao		
5.		Memon Abdul Majid Haji Ahmed		
6.		Athawale, Ramdas Bandu		
7.		Kakade, Sanjay Dattatraya		
8.		Anubhav Mohanty	02.04.2020	
9.	ODICITA	Narendra Kumar Swain		
10.	ODISHA	Sarojini Hembram		
11.		Ranjib Biswal		
12.		Sasikala Pushpa		
13.		K. Selvaraj		
14.		Tiruchi Siva	02.04.2020	
15.	TAMIL NADU	S. Muthukaruppan		
16.		Rangarajan		
17.		Vijila Sathyananth		
18.		Ritabrata Banerjee		
19.		Jogendranath Chowdhury		
20.	WEST BENGAL	Dr. Kanwar Deep Singh	02.04.2020	
21.		Manish Gupta		
22.		Ahmad Hassan		
23.		Mohd. Ali Khan		
24.		Tikkavarapu Subbarami Reddy	09.04.2020	
25.	ANDHRA PRADESH	Thota Seetharama Lakshmi		
26.		K. Keshava Rao		
27.		K.V.P. Ramachandra Rao	09.04.2020	
28.	TELANGANA	Garikapati Mohan Rao	07.04.2020	
29.		Bhubaneswar Kalita		
30.	ASSAM	Dr. Sanjay Sinh	09.04.2020	
31.	, ASSANT	Biswajit Daimary		
32.		Kahkashan Perween		
33.		Ravindra Kishore Sinha		
34.	BIHAR	Ram Nath Thakur	09.04.2020	
35.	DILIAN	Haribansh Narayan Singh	07.04.2020	
36.		C.P. Thakur		
37.		Ranvijay Pratap Singh Judev	09.04.2020	
38.	CHHATTISGARH	Motilal Vora	09.04.2020	
39.		Gohel Chunibhai Kanjibhai		
40.		Mistry Madhusudan Devram	09.04.2020	
41.	GUJARAT	Vadodiya Lalsinh Udesinh		
42.		Tundiya Shambhuprasad Baldevdasji		
43.		Ram Kumar	09.04.2020	
44.	HARYANA	Kumari Selja	0 7.0 1.2020	
45.	HIMACHAL	Viplove Thakur	09.04.2020	
	PRADESH	F	07.01.2020	

46.	JHARKHAND	Nathwani Parimal	09.04.2020
47.	JNAKKHAND	Prem Chand Gupta	
48.		Digvijay Singh	09.04.2020
49.	MADHYA PRADESH	Prabhat	
50.		Satyanarayan Jatiya	
51.	MANIPUR	Kshetrimayum Bhabananda Singh	09.04.2020
52.		Narayan Lal Panchariya	09.04.2020
53.	RAJASTHAN	Ram Narian Dudi	
54.		Vijay Goel	
55.	MEGHALAYA	Wansuk Syiem	12.04.2020